Raspberry Jam


Do you know how easy it is to make Jam? Neither did I until I gave it a go on a wet and windy Friday evening! I was in pure shock when I followed a quick BBC Good Food recipe and found that on Saturday morning I had jam, not some poor attempt but amazingly nice, scrumptious and, more importantly, real jam!

The point of this post really is to question; if it’s so easy, why aren’t we all doing it? Maybe I got lucky but it seemed to be effortless with just a bit of patience needed. So, below is the recipe that I used, adapted slightly as I only made 500g instead of 1kg, give it a try and show me how easy you found it to make your own jam!

Raspberry Jam

Ingredients

500g raspberries
Juice of 1 lemon
500g bag jam sugar (the one with pectin added)

Method

1. Before you start, sterilise your jars by washing them in hot soapy water and placing them on a baking tray in the oven at 140c. It is important to keep your jars warm until you fill with jam and so keep them in there until the final step. As well as prepping your jars, put a plate in the freezer to chill.

2. Tip half the raspberries into a stock pot and add the lemon juice. Mash the berries to a pulp over the heat with a potato masher, then leave to cook for 5 mins. (I used all of my raspberries at this point as I didn’t want whole fruit in my jam.)

3. Tip the cooked berries into a sieve over a bowl, then once all of the juice has drained off, firmly work the pulp through the sieve with a wooden spoon until you are left with just the seeds.

4. Tip the juice and pulp back into the stock pot and stir in the sugar. Heat gently, then add the remaining whole raspberries (if using). Bring to the boil, then boil rapidly for 5 mins. Remove from the heat and drop a little jam onto the chilled plate. Now push your finger through it – it should wrinkle and look like jam. If it doesn’t, boil for 2 mins, then test again.

5. The top of the jam may look like it has sediment on it, but if you stir it well as it cools, a little of this disappears. Pour into the jars and seal. It will keep unopened for a year, although the lovely bright colour will darken a little. Once open, keep in the fridge.

There you have it, 5 easy steps to make your own jam! Try it once and I guarantee you’ll never use shop bought jam again!

20130908-064853.jpg

Leave a Reply

